Koroibete, White return to Wallabies side for Bledisloe II

Thu, Aug 12, 2021, 1:13 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Wallabies come up short despite strong second half at Eden Park

Dave Rennie has made four changes to the Wallabies side for the second Bledisloe Test, headlined by the return of Marika Koroibete and Nic White.

Koroibete slots onto the wing in place of Jordan Petaia after serving his one-match suspension for breaking team protocols.

Get your tickets now for The Rugby Championship now

He is joined on the wing by Andrew Kellaway after an impressive showing in his starting debut.

Rebels duo Matt To'omua and Matt Philip have also earned starts following their impactful performances from the bench during last week's eight-point defeat.

To'omua will partner Hunter Paisami in the centres, with Paisami shifting to outside centre whilst Philip will partner Darcy Swain in their first Test start together in the second row.

Along with this, Waratahs firebrand Lachie Swinton and Brumbies scrumhalf Nic White will make their returns from injury.

Swinton slots into the back row alongside captain Michael Hooper and Rob Valetini, who shifts to number eight.

White is joined on the bench by Brumbies teammate Scott Sio, who are set for their first appearance for the Wallabies in 2021.

To'omua gifts Banks with a easy five pointer

“Eden Park is a place that most teams fear but we’re excited to get another crack after last weekend’s disappointment," Rennie said.

“To beat New Zealand, you have to win the collisions and be clinical for 80 minutes and we didn’t do that.

“We’ve got a lot more in us and we’ll show that on Saturday night.”


1. James Slipper (104 Tests)

2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa (13 Tests)

3. Allan Alaalatoa (47 Tests)

4. Darcy Swain (4 Tests)

5. Matt Philip (13 Tests)

6. Lachlan Swinton (2 Tests)

7. Michael Hooper (c) (109 Tests)

8. Rob Valetini (8 Tests)

9. Tate McDermott (6 Tests)

10. Noah Lolesio (6 Tests)

11. Marika Koroibete (37 Tests)

12. Matt To’omua (58 Tests)

13. Hunter Paisami (10 Tests)

14. Andrew Kellaway (3 Tests)

15. Tom Banks (15 Tests)


16. Jordan Uelese (14 Tests)

17. Scott Sio (68 Tests)

18. Taniela Tupou (29 Tests)

19. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (29 Tests)

20. Harry Wilson (9 Tests)

21. Nic White (37 Tests)

22. Len Ikitau (3 Tests)

23. Reece Hodge (47 Tests)