For Players

Collective Bargaining Agreement

The Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) is a document agreed to by RUPA with the Rugby Bodies (Rugby Australia and the State Unions), which governs the terms and conditions of the employment of professional Rugby players in Australia.

As such, the document is responsible for detailing items such, as but not limited to, the following:

  • Training and playing conditions and obligations
  • Player payments
  • Annual leave and rest periods
  • Minimum levels of health and accident insurance
  • Treatment of players’ image rights

The first CBA was struck in 1996, with the second in 2001, the third following in 2004, the fourth in October 2013 and the fifth in January 2018; with extensions of CBA V agreed to for the 2021 and 2022 seasons following the impact of COVID on the game.

On 31 December 2022, RUPA and Rugby Australia finalised the terms to a new CBA, which would run until 30 November 2026.

Among the key features of CBA VI were the inclusion of a funding increase into Super W as the Women’s Game moves towards professionalism, a return of International Match Payments back to pre-COVID amounts, an increase in funding for the players Career Ending Insurance Policy, the securing of increased minimum wages for Super Rugby and Sevens Players and an increase in rights around Player Images and Commercial Rules. The share of revenue for all professional players has grown from 29% to 31.7% across the term of the agreement.

Click here to view a video explaining some of the key components of CBA V.