Rugby Australia announce Australian U16’s Development Squad

Tue, Nov 22, 2022, 2:06 AM
Rugby Australia
by Rugby Australia

Rugby Australia have announced a 27-player Australian Under 16’s Development Squad.

The squad comes following the U16 National Championships, with the NSW Waratahs taking out the title with a 40-10 win over the Queensland Reds.

Catch every game of the Wallabies' Spring Tour LIVE on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

The squad will assemble in camp at The Southport School on the Gold Coast from the 9th to the 12th of December.

It will be coached by Rugby Australia High-Performance staff, along with Rugby Australia support staff.

This will include current Junior Wallabies Head Coach Nathan Grey, and Junior Wallabies assistant coaches Nic Henderson and Shannon Fraser, with a focus on building individual skills whilst focusing on mental and physical preparation.

As expected, the Waratahs dominate the squad with 17 selections after they went unbeaten throughout the tournament.

This includes lock Zion Poitaha, who was named Player of the Final after a powerful display at Pittwater Park.

He is joined by teenage sensation Zach Fittler and fullback Mitchell Woods

There are five Reds selections in the team, headlined by centre Prestyn Laine-Sietu.

Laine-Sietu finished the season with four tries, only trailing Woods, selected alongside front-row duo Princeton Ioane and Ewald Kruger.

Force trio Luke Holt-Brown, Manaia Te Tana and Christoffel Jansen along with Brumbies duo Jeziah Sega and Bailey Bouquiaux round out the side.

Australian U16’s Development Squad

Alex Conti - NSW Waratahs, St Patricks College Strathfield

Avery Thompson - Queensland Reds, Brisbane Boys College

Bailey Bouquiaux - ACT Brumbies, Marist College, Canberra

Casey McLean - NSW Waratahs, Newington College

Charlie Poynton - NSW Waratahs, Barker College

Chace Oates - Queensland Reds, Toowoomba Grammar School

Christoffel Jansen - Western Force, Quinn’s Baptist College

Edwin Langi - NSW Waratahs, Kings School

Ewald Kruger - Queensland Reds, Toowoomba Grammar School

Henry Seigmeier - NSW Waratahs, St Josephs College Hunters Hill

Jeziah Sega - ACT Brumbies, Amaroo College

Joe Walsh - NSW Waratahs, St Augustines College Brookvale

Leo Jaques - NSW Waratahs, The Scots College

Luca Cleverley - NSW Waratahs, Newington College

Luke Holt-Brown - Western Force, Aranmore Catholic College

Manaia Te Tana - Western Force, Warwick Senior High School

Marshall Le Maitre - NSW Waratahs, Shore School

Max Meagher - NSW Waratahs, Trinity Grammar School

Mitchell Woods - NSW Waratahs, St Patricks College Strathfield

Nick Hill - NSW Waratahs, Barker College

Ollie Aboud - NSW Waratahs, Waverley College

Prestyn Laine-Sietu - Queensland Reds, Nudgee College

Princeton Ioane - Queensland Reds, Nudgee College

Sam Blank - NSW Waratahs, St Augustines College Brookvale

Toby Brial - NSW Waratahs, The Scots College

Zach Fittler - NSW Waratahs, The Scots College

Zion Poitaha - NSW Waratahs, Waverley College