Allan Alaalatoa wins RUPA Medal of Excellence

Wed, Dec 14, 2022, 2:56 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Brumbies hosted the Hurricanes in the final quarter finals match of the round.

Wallabies prop Allan Alaalatoa has been recognised for his services on the off the field, winning the 2022 RUPA Medal for Excellence.

It is the second time the Brumbies skipper has taken out the honour, voted on by Super Rugby players within Australia, winning the award in 2019.


“It’s a huge honour to receive this award,” Alaalatoa said in a statement.

“It is a privilege understanding a lot of players across Australia have both for me so it’s a great honour.

“It’s something that I am truly humbled by.”

Alaalatoa edged out runner-up Charlie Gamble as well as the likes of Rebels backrower Brad Wilkin, Reds duo Harry Wilson and Tate McDermott along with Western Force winger Manasa Mataele.

Brumbies and Wallabies assistant Laurie Fisher led the tributes for the prop, praising his leadership and willingness to continue to better himself.

“He’s a really central figure. The respect that he has which he has earned, his messaging and training ethic is superb," Fisher told reporters last week.

“(Allan) is constantly looking to improve his game, you can see that in the physicality in his defence and second efforts. He’s become a really good leader of men, leading by example but also his messaging is superb.

“The award is great recognition that he’s been building to that for a long time. He’s a rock in our environment and in the Wallaby environment.

“You don’t look at tight-heads and look at natural ability. They get to where they get to through a lot of hard work and Allan for a long period of time has left no stone unturned. Even at his age now, he still has a strong desire to be a better player."

Western Force new recruit Michael Wells was named RUPA Academic Award of the year, having been admitted into the Supreme Court of NSW after completing a Bachelor of Commerce with a Bachelor of Laws Practice Legal Training.

He was joined by Liam Wright, with the Reds skipper winning of the RUPA Community Award

Faith Nathan and Dietrich Roache were rewarded for strong Sevens seasons, awarded the Men's and Women's Sevens Players’ Player Awards respectively.

Nathan held off Maddison Levi for the award, who was recognised for her breakout season with the RUPA Newcomer of the Year Award.